Friday, June 14, 2013

Australian Delegates lead the way at Conference on Indigenous Peoples Global Preparatory Meeting

National Congress of Australia's First Peoples Co-Chair Les Malezer has been appointed as Pacific Bureau Member, and has been elected as Co-Chair of the Conference along with Asia Region Delegate Vicki Tauli-Corpus. Mr Malezer's years of experience in international advocacy for Indigenous Peoples is well regarded amongst the international Indigenous Peoples movement.

There are twelve Delegates from Australia at the meeting, and a number of them hold leadership positions.

Professor Mick Dodson, another experienced and respected Aboriginal leader has been appointed as rapporteur for the Pacific along with Mililani Trask of Hawaii. They form part of the Drafting Team.

Brian Wyatt, the CEO of the National Native Title Council and Co-Chair of the Indigenous Peoples Organisation (IPO) Network was elected Co-Chair of the Pacific Caucus, along with Catherine Davis from Aotearoa (New Zealand).

IPO Co-Chair Dea Delaney was appointed as Bureau Member for the Global Women's Caucus and emerging leader Peter Dawson was elected as Co-Chair of the Youth Caucus.